

1st ICJ Geneva Forum Of Judges and Lawyers

Participants list

Hafez Abu-Saeda

Lawyer and Secretary General of the Egyptian Organization for Human Rights

Professor Ron Atkey

National Security Law at Osgoode Hall Law School, President ICJ Section Canada

Professor Carlos Ayala

Professor Universidad Católica, Caracas, and Universidad Central de Venezuela (UCV), Former Chairperson Inter-American Commission for Human Rights

Abdelaziz Benzakour

Lawyer and founding member of the Moroccan Organization for Human Rights (OMDH), member of the Moroccan Commission for Equity and Reconciliation

Irma van den Berg

Member Lawyers for Lawyers, Netherlands

Justice P. N. Bhagwati

Member UN Human Rights Committee, former Chief Justice of India

Phon van den Biesen

President Lawyers for Lawyers, Netherlands

Adam Bodnar

Head of the legal division of the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights, Poland

Jan Borgen

Deputy Director, ICJ

Justice Solomy Bossa

Judge ad litem at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

Marina Brilman

Member Lawyers for Lawyers

Justice Azhar Cachalia

Judge at the Supreme Court of Appeal, South Africa

Mondher Cherni

Human rights lawyer, Secretary General Association Against Torture in Tunisia

Ugo Cedrangolo

UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Special Procedures Division (assisting the mandate of the UN Special Rapporteur on the Independence of Judges and Lawyers)

Quirine Eijkman

President Dutch Section of the ICJ and Research Fellow at the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism ICCT

Fatmeh El-'Ajou

Senior legal Advisor, Adalah, Israel

Massimo Frigo

Legal Advisor, International Commission of Jurists

Christine Hislaire Kammermann

Secretary General a.i., Canton and the Republic of Geneva

Justice Augusto José Ibáñez Guzmán

Judge at the Supreme Court of Colombia

George Kegoro

ICJ Kenya, Executive Director

Steve Kostas

Lawyer, Security and Rule of Law Program, Interrights

Justice Ketil Lund

Former Judge at the Supreme Court Norway

Lord Ken Macdonald QC

Matrix Chambers, former Director of Public Prosecutions United Kingdom

Justice José Antonio Martín Pallín

Emeritus Judge, Supreme Court of Spain

Ambassador Dante Martinelli

Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations

Pierre Maudet

Vice-President, Conseil Administrative, City of Geneva

Judge Manon Montpetit

Member ICJ Canada

Lisa Oldring

Rule of Law and Democracy Section, Research and Right to Development Division, Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights

Roisin Pillay

Senior Legal Adviser, ICJ

Justice Khil Raj Regmi

Judge at the Supreme Court of Nepal

Mona Rishmawi

Chief of the Rule of Law, Equality and Non-Discrimination Branch in the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (tbc)

Iustice Michèle Rivet

Former President of the Quebec Human Rights Tribunal, Canada

Julien Schukking

Judge Regional Court of Utrecht, member of Judges for Judges, the Netherlands

Gerald Staberock

Director Centre for the Independence of Judges and Lawyers and of the Global Security and Rule of Law Initiative, ICJ

Wilder Tayler

ICJ Secretary General

Justice Philippe Texier

Judge at the Court of Cassation, France, and member of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Justice Stefan Trechsel

Judge *ad litem* at the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, member Eminent Jurists Panel on Terrorism, Counter-Terrorism and Human Rights

Ben Wizner

Litigation Director of the American Civil Liberties Union's National Security Project

Leila Zerrougui

United Nations Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary General (in charge of rule of law) to the Democratic Republic of Congo

Observers:

Said Benarbia, Senior Legal Advisor, Middle Eastern & North Africa Program, ICJ Carlos Lopez, Senior Legal Advisor, International Economic Relations, ICJ Leah Hoctor, Legal Advisor, Woman's Human Rights Project, ICJ Lenka Koutnakova, ICJ Ilaria Vena, ICJ Mina Baghai, ICJ